Split Review

Split Review

M.Night Shyamalan has another film out in cinemas and his name is not as joke like it was just a few short years ago. 

Split is the second film with M.Night Shyamalan and Blumhouse productions, the first being the visit, now we get Split. Split stars James McAvoy and Anya Taylor Joy. The synopsis reads. 

“Three girls are kidnapped by a man with a diagnosed 23 distinct personalities, and must try and escape before the apparent emergence of a frightful new 24th.”

I will have a paragraph or two later talking about spoilers, however this is for the most part a spoiler free review. 

To me the film delivers on the promise of a tense and claustrophobic film, the film makes us go on a journey with both of these characters. The film is shot in such a way that it makes us feel uncomfortable at times. James McAvoy gives a great performance playing this character, which means he plays 23 characters. We predominantly see 3 characters the most, while the others are quick or just mentions. Again I will give no spoilers, so I will not talk about which characters but if you have seen the trailer you know anyway. 

hedwig

Now the film is about 20 minutes too long for me personally, I feel there were some small pieces here and there what could be cut out. Apparently there will be an extended cut on Blu Ray, so while I will watch that, I still feel like the film is too long as. 

*SPOILERS*

I will be delving into the spoilers of the film right now, so if you do not want any spoilers, avoid this next section. 

Right so the film started to lose me by the end, simply because the whole time we hear about Kevin having a 24th personality called the beast but when the beast finally arrives Kevin becomes this unkillable machine, he gets shot twice with a shotgun and climbs up walls, so I was lost at that point, I wanted the film to end it seemed to have lost me and then the twist happened. It’s a M.N Shyamalan film so of course there is a twist. 

The twist is that this film is in the same universe as Unbreakable, that completely changed the last 15 minutes of the film. I went from not enjoying the beast to loving it because, we got the groundwork for this in Unbreakable. We found out that this was in the same universe as Unbreakable because in the last few minutes we get a panning shot and the Unbreakable music kicks in, I knew at that second but then we see Bruce Willis, which I did not expect, we get a mention of Mr Glass. If we get another film in this universe then it could very well be, the beast and Mr Glass team up? I don’t know but this film is like another origin story just like Unbreakable. 

*SPOILERS DONE*

This is a good film, and I would recommend everyone watching it. I will be giving it a rewatch soon enough, to me I feel like I need to rewatch it. I would give Split a 3.7/5. Please tell me what you all thought of the film, did you enjoy it? Please tweet me, go to my Facebook page or simply comment below, thanks. 

My next film review will be the new Mel Gibson film starring Andrew Garfield in Hacksaw Ridge. 

hacksaw.png

Twitter Page

Facebook Page

 

Leave a Reply

