The Accountant Review

The Accountant Review

Yes this review, isn’t exactly up the first weekend of the films release but I watched it eventually. That aside, I am here to give my thoughts on the new Gavin O’Connor film starring Ben Affleck.

Here is a trailer if you watch it.

The account tells the story of Christian Wolff (Ben Affleck) who suffers with Autism, we follow him and his unique upbringing as well as the unique life style he leads. We see the type of lifestyle Christian has been brought up with and how that has stuck with to this day. Christian is a math savant who’s unique job is un-cooking books for clients who may not been known as good men but Ray King (J.K Simmons) and Marybeth Medina (Cynthia Addai-Robinson) are closing in on who this mysterious account is un-cooking all the books.

christian

That is the basic plot of the film. Gavin O’Connor also directed Warrior which is one if my favorite sports movies and one of my favorite Tom Hardy and Joel Eddgerton performances, watching this I am happy to say that The Accountant is up there as good film, and O’Connor is keeping up his track record (I haven’t seen Jane got a gun).

The film blends both action and story together quite seamlessly, for me the action never really drew me away from the story and the story never made me bored and wanting another action scene. We watch the film and it doesn’t ever really lose track of the main story while building these side stories what are also intriguing. Throughout the film we see Christian as a child and what it was like for him being Autistic and the unique relationships he had with his family, what that meant for his brother, his mother and his father.

chritsian-sniper

Ben Affleck plays this character amazing, not much fault towards his performance at all, actors like Anna Kendrick, J.K. Simmons and Jon Bernthal are always great and rarely turn in less than stellar performances, as someone who has a close family member who is Autistic, I felt this film helped portray the relationship between brother and brother great. Jon Bernthal plays the antagonist of the film with a unique twist towards the end of the film, which I will explain below. So don’t read the next paragraph if you want to go into the film not knowing the twist.

I am going to spoil part of the film here… You’re still here? Okay.

I didn’t see the twist at the end coming. We spend the whole film looking at Jon Bernthal as an antagonist but at the end they throw us for a loop and reveal that he is Christian’s brother. I did wonder, where the brother was didn’t see it coming. Maybe second before the twist is when I thought of it, literally seconds before.

Okay spoilers done. This film is left open for a sequel and I would be interested in returning to the world of The Account, with everything what happens at the end of the film.I would recommend this film to anyone who wants a good action film, if you are looking for a fun 2 hours, watch this. I would give this film a 3.6/5. I feel the film is a good fun time but I just feel there were small improvements through out the film, but I will be watching this again and look forward to watching it again through a different set of eyes, knowing the ending. Did you watch The Account? You can tell me by tweeting me, going to my Facebook page or simply commenting below, thanks.

My next review will be Sully which will be up this weekend. The new film directed by Clint Eastwood starring Tom Hanks.

sully.jpg

Twitter Page

Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

